Franz Nicolay

President and
Composer and

Franz Nicolay is that mustachioed multi-instrumentalist and man-about-town you've seen with cabaret-punk circus World/Inferno Friendship Society, gypsy-klezmer carnies Guignol, and world's best bar band the Hold Steady. He has released three acclaimed solo records. He founded Anti-Social Music; and works as a composer, arranger, and producer. Nicolay has performed and recorded with bands from Leftover Crack and Against Me to Bruce Springsteen and the Dresden Dolls. He published his first story collection, "Complicated Gardening Techniques," in 2009. Take that scum.

Franz Nicolay, photo by Konstantin Sergeyev

photo by Konstantin Sergeyev

On the turntable:

  • Mischief Brew - The Stone Operation
  • Tim Fite - Under The Table Tennis
  • Sam Amidon - I See The Sign
  • Sparks - Hello Young Lovers
  • Andy Preiboy - The Questionable Profits of Pure Novelty
  • Chumbawambda - Anarchy
  • Mariachi El Bronx - S/T
  • Good Luck - Into Lake Griffy
  • Leatherface - Mush
  • Rolo Tomassi - Cosmology